Studies in Ancient Judaism

Joint Degree

Master’s degree in ancient Judaism with the theological departments of the University of Zurich and the University of Bern.

The study of ancient Judaism focuses on the cultural, religious, and societal shape of Judaism from the Persian period until the early Middle Ages

The program offers historically and philologically grounded views into Judaism’s multifaceted intellectual- and culture-historical structures, giving students the opportunity to grapple both with the emergence and consolidation of Judaism, which is located in the context of ancient Near Eastern and Mediterranean cultures. This broad geographical and chronological scope provides the framework for exploring the formative influence of ancient Jewish discourse.

Specialized master’s degree in ancient Judaism

The specialized master’s degree pursues an overview of the history, literature, and religion of ancient Judaism from the Second Temple period until the Rabbinic period. Culture studies and philological-historical methods constitute the interpretive lens for examining texts, images, and other sources.

This degree has an interdisciplinary orientation. Course offerings include the discipline-relevant events of the University of Zurich's (course directory) theological and philosophical departments as well as the University of Bern's (course directory) theological and philosophical-historical departments.

Students can study ancient Judaism either as a full-time degree or as a primary subject supplemented by a secondary subject.

Doctoral Studies

With a doctorate, students have opportunity at the University of Bern to deepen their understanding of a select topic from their subject area and to contribute to their field of research.

Themes

Apply for the degree in Ancient Judaism

Studiengang Antikes Judentum

Joint Degree

Spezialisierter Master-Studiengang Antikes Judentum der Theologischen Fakultäten der Universität Zürich und der Universität Bern

Der Studiengang Antikes Judentum beschäftigt sich mit den kulturellen, religiösen und gesellschaftlichen Erscheinungsformen des Judentums von der persischen Zeit bis zum frühen Mittelalter.

Der Studiengang vermittelt historisch und philologisch fundierte Einblicke in die vielfältigen geistes- und kulturgeschichtlichen Grundlagen des Judentums. Er bietet die Möglichkeit, sich mit der Entstehung und Konsolidierung des Judentums auseinanderzusetzen. Das antike Judentum wird dabei als Teil der antiken vorderasiatischen und mediterranen Kulturen verstanden. In diesem weiten geographischen und zeitlichen Raum soll die prägende Wirkung antiker jüdischer Diskurse entdeckt und erforscht werden.

Spezialisierter Masterstudiengang Antikes Judentum

Im Spezialisierten Masterstudiengang wird ein Überblick über Geschichte, Literatur und Religion des Antiken Judentums von der Zeit des Zweiten Tempels bis und mit der rabbinischen Zeit erarbeitet. Texte, Bilder und andere Quellen werden mit kulturwissenschaftlichen und philologisch-historischen Methoden interpretiert.

Der Studiengang ist interdisziplinär ausgerichtet. Das Lehrangebot setzt sich aus den fachrelevanten Veranstaltungen der Theologischen und der Philosophischen Fakultät der Universität Zürich (Vorlesungsverzeichnis) bzw. der Theologischen und der Philosophisch-historischen Fakultät der Universität Bern (Vorlesungsverzeichnis) zusammen.

Antikes Judentum kann als Vollzeitstudiengang oder als Hauptfach, ergänzt durch ein Nebenfach, studiert werden.

Doktoratsstudiengang

Im Rahmen eines Doktorats bietet sich an der Universität Bern die Möglichkeit, ein ausgewähltes Thema aus dem Fachgebiet zu vertiefen und einen Beitrag zur Forschung zu leisten.

Themen

Bewerbung für den Studiengang Antikes Judentum