Project Group: The Bible and Antiquity

Interdisciplinarity is the key to academic research in the 21st century. It stands at the core of the work of this project group.

Through the enormous increase in knowledge and material in all disciplines of both biblical studies and the study of antiquity more widely, a trend has increased that especially early-career researchers are in a position of need to restrict themselves to narrow fields of study, which they can deal with comprehensively and competently in order to establish themselves in the academic community. This constriction often leads to a Theoriedefizit, once important methods and notions lie outside of the traditional preoccupations of their discipline.

Especially in the study of antiquity, however, an understanding of neighbouring disciplines is essential. This is not least due to the dynamic manner of interaction between cultures during that time, for instance between biblical Israel, the ancient Near East, and ancient Greece, where a profound level of interaction existed.

Broadening interdisciplinary horizons

If one dealt in one’s research with authoritative discourses around the figure of Moses, which gave rise to a long intellectual and literary tradition, one can learn from how similar traditions emerged around the figure of Homer in the Greek speaking world. If one pursued research on textual criticism of the Hebrew or Greek languages, one can become enabled to better contextualise one’s sources through comparison with epigraphic material through new digitalised approaches of classical archaeology. If one considered oneself to be primarily a historian, an awareness of the close engagement with texts and the characteristics of literary genres in philology is crucial to understand one’s own sources better.

All these examples illustrate the potential of a conscious and constructive exchange amongst researchers studying antiquity.

Exchange, Learning, and Networking Opportunities for Junior Researchers

The project group especially aims towards providing opportunities to early-career researchers to facilitate exchange, occasion for professional networking, and a place to learn about new developments in all areas of biblical studies and the study of antiquity. It is hoped that this will enable them to transfer their expertise gained through this project to their own research and teaching. To this end, this project seeks to provide a platform, which is hoped to be a starting point for developments in a variety of disciplines, including but not limited to biblical studies, the study of ancient Judaism, classical philology, archaeology, history, and theology.

Subsidization by the Graduate Campus of the University of Zurich

The project is kindly supported with a grant by the Graduate Campus of the University of Zurich through the Peer Mentoring programme. The organisers would like to extend their gratitude for this support. It is moreover mentored by Konrad Schmid and Jörg Frey , to whom the organisers would also like to express their thanks.

Past events

Authenticity and Forgery
Session on Authenticity & Forgery in the cloister of the Zurich Grossmünsterr

Image 1: Session on Authenticity and Forgery in the cloister of the Zurich Grossmünster, 18 May 2021

Image 2: In discussion, Konrad Schmid (l.) and Jörg Frey (c.), moderated by Moritz F. Adam

18 May 2021: “Authenticity and Forgery in the Literature of the Old and New Testaments as well as Jewish antiquity more widely”. A dialogue between Konrad Schmid, Professor of Hebrew Bible and Ancient Judaism, University of Zurich, and Jörg Frey, Professor of New Testament Studies, University of Zurich

 

People

Dr. Daniel Maier
    is a postdoc at the Faculty of Theology of the University of Zurich, and Assistent at the Chair of New Testament Studies, Ancient Judaism, and Hermeneutics. He received his PhD from the Ludwigs-Maximilians-Universität of Munich in 2020, where he wrote a dissertation on the concept of happiness in the New Testament and Ancient Judaism, supervised by Professor Loren Stuckenbruck. His current project for his Habilitation deals with the Ethiopic tradition of the Apocalypse of Peter.

Moritz F. Adam, M.Phil
    is a doctoral student at the Faculty of Theology of the University of Zurich, and Assistent at the Chair of Hebrew Bible and Ancient Judaism. Since 2020 he is pursuing a PhD project on the subject of the relationship between the book of Ecclesiastes and Jewish Apocalypticism, supervised by Professor Konrad Schmid. Moreover, he has been awarded a scholarship by the German Academic Scholarship Foundation (Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes).

Dr. Matthias Hopf
    is a postdoc at the Faculty of Theology of the University of Zurich. In 2014 he received his PhD from the Augustana Divinity School in Neuendettelsau, Germany, with his thesis being a literary study of the Song of Songs as a dramatic-performative text. Currently he is working on a project on the anthropology of the Holiness Code, supported by a grant from the Swiss National Science Foundation (Schweizerischer Nationalfonds).

Barbara Holler
    is working in Ancient History and was awarded a doctorate from the University of Zurich with a dissertation on the financing of public sacrifices in the Hellenistic Polis. She is currently preparing the publication of her book and is pursuing a project on the depiction of historians of antiquity in contemporary novels. Moreover, she is interested in various forms of receptions of antiquity. She is the managing director of the Zurich Center for the Study of the Ancient World at the University of Zurich.

Annamária Seres
(Text will follow)

Projektgruppe: Die Bibel und die Antike Welt

Interdisziplinarität ist der Schlüssel zu akademischer Forschung im 21. Jahrhundert. Sie steht im Zentrum der Arbeit dieser Projektgruppe.

Durch den enormen Anstieg an Wissen und Material in allen Disziplinen der Bibelwissenschaft und den Altertumswissenschaften im weiteren Sinne hat sich in den letzten Jahren ein Trend verstärkt, dass es insbesondere für Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler notwendig ist, sich in ihrer eigenen Forschung ein enges Feld zu wählen, um dieses umfassend und kompetent bearbeiten und sich im wissenschaftlichen Diskurs etablieren zu können. Häufig kann diese Engführung zu Theoriedefiziten führen, wenn Inhalte oder Methoden ausserhalb der traditionell gewählten Herangehensweisen eines Fachbereiches liegen. Jedoch ist insbesondere in der Forschung über die Antike, in der geschichtliche Prozesse wie geistige Interaktionen dynamisch verliefen, beispielsweise zwischen dem biblischen Israel, dem alten Orient, und dem antiken Griechenland, welche alle miteinander in Wechselwirkung standen, ein Verständnis der benachbarten Fachgebiete essenziell.

Über den "disziplinären Tellerrand" schauen

Wer sich mit biblischen Diskursen um Autoritätsfiguren wie Mose beschäftigt, welche einer jahrhundertelangen geistigen und literarischen Tradition als Gegenstand dienten, kann davon lernen, wie bei den Griechen sich ähnliche Traditionen um die Figur des Homer entwickelten. Wer sich mit der Textkritik der hebräischen oder griechischen Sprache befasst, gewinnt durch die immer weiter digitalisierten Herangehensweisen der Archäologie und Epigraphik Ressourcen, um die Textquellen im Vergleich mit ausgegrabenen Inschriften besser einordnen zu können. Die intensive Auseinandersetzung mit Texten und deren Gattungscharakteristika durch die Philologie hilft Historikerinnen und Historikern diese Dimensionen der Quellen besser zu verstehen. Alle diese Beispiele illustrieren die Chancen eines bewussten und konstruktiven Austausches in der Forschung über die antike Welt.

Austausch, Bildung und Vernetzung für Nachwuchsforschende

Die Projektgruppe ist insbesondere bestrebt, jungen Nachwuchsforschenden Möglichkeiten des inhaltlichen Austauschs, der professionellen Vernetzung, und der inhaltlichen Bildung zu vermitteln. Dieses soll sich noch mehr als bisher dann auch in deren eigener Lehre und Forschung niederschlagen können. Hierfür soll hier eine Plattform geschaffen werden, welche ein Anfangspunkt für eine Entwicklung der Arbeit in einer Vielfalt von Disziplinen wie der Bibelwissenschaft, der Forschung über das antike Judentum, der klassischen Philologie, der Archäologie, der Geschichte, der Theologie und vielen anderen Feldern sein soll.

Förderung durch Graduate Campus der UZH

Die Projektgruppe wird durch einen Grant des Graduate Campus der Universität Zürich über das Peer Mentoring Programm gefördert. An dieser Stelle möchte sich die Gruppe für diese Unterstützung recht herzlich bedanken. Von akademischer Seite wird sie von Konrad Schmid und Jörg Frey als Mentoren betreut, denen ebenfalls hier Dank zum Ausdruck gebracht werden soll.

Bisherige Veranstaltungen

Authentizität und Fälschung
Veranstaltung zu Authentizität und Fälschung im Kreuzgang des Zürcher Grossmünsters, 18.05.2021

18.05.2021: „Authentizität und Fälschung in der Literatur des Alten und Neuen Testaments sowie der weiteren jüdischen Antike“, im Dialog: Konrad Schmid, Professor für Alttestamentliche Wissenschaft und Frühjüdische Religionsgeschichte, Universität Zürich, und Jörg Frey, Professor für Neutestamentliche Wissenschaft mit Schwerpunkt Antikes Judentum und Hermeneutik, Universität Zürich

 

Projektmitarbeitende

Dr. Daniel Maier
ist Postdoc an der theologischen Fakultät der Universität Zürich und Assistent am Lehrstuhl für Neutestamentliche Wissenschaft mit Schwerpunkt Antikes Judentum und Hermeneutik. 2020 wurde er mit einer Dissertation zum Thema des Glücks im Antiken Judentum und im Neuen Testament an der Ludwigs-Maximilians-Universität München bei Prof. Loren Stuckenbruck promoviert. Das Thema seiner Habilitation ist die äthiopische Überlieferungstradition der Petrusapokalypse.

Moritz F. Adam, M.Phil
ist Doktorand an der theologischen Fakultät der Universität Zürich und Assistent am Lehrstuhl für Alttestamentliche Wissenschaft und Frühjüdische Religionsgeschichte. Seit 2020 beschäftigt er sich in seinem Promotionsprojekt bei Prof. Konrad Schmid mit der Beziehung des Buches Qoheleth zur jüdischen Apokalyptik. Er ist ferner Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes.

Dr. Matthias Hopf
ist Postdoc an der theologischen Fakultät der Universität Zürich. 2014 wurde er mit einer literaturwissenschaftlichen Studie zum Hohenlied als einem dramatisch-performativen Text an der Augustana-Hochschule Neuendettelsau promoviert. Gegenwärtig beschäftigt er sich im Zuge eines SNF-Forschungsprojektes mit Studien zur Anthropologie des Heiligkeitsgesetzes.

Barbara Holler
ist Althistorikerin und hat zur Finanzierung öffentlicher Opfer in der hellenistischen Polis an der Universität Zürich promoviert. Gerade bereitet sie die Publikation ihres Buches vor und verfolgt daneben ein Projekt zur Darstellung  der Altertumswissenschaften und Altertumswissenschaftler*innen im zeitgenössischen Roman und interessiert sich für die verschiedenen Formen der Rezeption der Antike. Ausserdem ist sie Geschäftsführerin des ZAZH—Zentrum Altertumswissenschaften Zürich an der Universität Zürich.

Annamária Seres
Text folgt. . .